Memories and Yesterdays

I remember when I was 6 or 7, I used to listen to Linkin Park a lot

That was the year 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009

The best years of my life, for some reason

I remember having to listen to this song

Not even knowing what the lyrics meant

I remember listening to this song

Beside a friend, who on hindsight,

Probably I have a lowkey crush on

But I didn’t really know what that was then

I was only in 3rd grade

I didn’t really experience having to fall for someone

Until I was in 1st year high school, 4 years later

But the thing is

That person, who I listen this song with and for

Ultimately desert the old neighborhood,

Along with his brother who is also a friend of mine

I remember being sad

I remember running around the corner

I remember passing by their house

And seeing new people

I remember the days when I was alone

When I would listen to LP

And just remember him

I don’t know

I remember the nights at the playground

I remember staying till midnight

In the playground with him

Just talking about everything and anything

I remember looking at this face and just… smiling

I remember all his dreams and how he always jokes about them all the time

I remember asking him where he wants to go after high school

I remember all the times I have spent with him

All the memories he had left behind

I remember

I remember everything

Because I keep all our memories attached to these songs

I remember that rainy day

Why it even have to rain that day

I remember walking up to you and saying good bye

I remember your face when you say we might never see each other again

I remember telling you that you’re wrong

But on hindsight, it’s been 10 years

I remember telling you to write, I remember telling you I would write

I remember everything

Because I promise

I was 7 for God’s sake

But for some reason

At that time, it feel like I was more mature than I was than I am right now

And I remember singing this song alone

In front of the chapel

In front of the playground were we used to lie

Alone

At time time

I didn’t really know what it was that I was feeling

And perhaps it has only occurred to me what it was years later

And perhaps on hindsight it was probably my first love, albeit unbeknownst to myself

And I don’t know

If we would ever see each other again

I really don’t know

Just know that the melody of our time

Is still playing inside this head of mine

Inside the lyrics of these rhythms

And broken promises none of us even try to redeem

Leave a Reply

